Black and White poetry- River

I’ve been playing with book pages from old altered books for black and white drawings with sharpie markers. This one says…

river

A smile flicked in her face,

You’re free, Watched over. Do you believe you are?

I’ll protect you. Stay.

First, I must take this woman to be purified.

Leave that life behind.

She knelt by the water and tears came away, her reflection shone a brilliance like the sun at noon.

I take the book pages and read through them for interesting phrases or images. In this one, I put squares around the phrases and then started drawing with my favorite chiseled sharpie (which I like to call beveled). I then doodle whatever comes to mind all around the phrases and fill in the page. This one has a river and riverbed feel, that most likely came from the poem.

Leave a Reply

